"B" Grade Accreditation by NAAC

Women Cell

  • Report of Women and Child Protection Cell of GDC Banjar

The programme was organised by the Women and Child Protection Cell of GDC Banjar as per the direction of Himachal Pradesh State Commission for Women. In this programme the cell was supposed to organise competitions such as essay writing, slogan writing and declamation on various themes related to Women Empowerment. On 11th December 2017 the students participated in essay writing and slogan writing competitions in which 37 and 22 students participated respectively. Dr. Binta Thakur, Dr. Ramesh Yadav, Prof. Govind Singh and Dr. Kanchan were in the panel of judges. The declamation contest was held on 12th December 2017 in which 21 students participated. Prof. T.S. Verma, Dr. Binta Thakur and Prof. Govind Singh were in the panel of judges for this contest.
The coordinator of this programme Dr. Renuka Thapliyal focused on issues such as growing crimes against women in a hill state like Himachal Pradesh and overall status of women in India and Himachal Pradesh in her opening address. She stressed on the fact that for women empowerment ‘gender equity’ is must. Among guests ASI Mr. Deewan Singh, Nodal Officer Mr. Jai Thakur form Police Station Banjar and Mr. Moti Ram from Child Development Project Office were present.
Dr. Mandeep Sharma, Principal GDC Banjar, who was also the Chief Guest of this function, in his address laid stress on equality in every sphere of life. He gave example of Shalini Agnihotri, SP Kullu, for her remarkable courage and achievements.
In Essay Writing Competition Heena Kumari bagged first prize, Meemansa Duggal second and Monika secured third position. In Slogan Writing Competition Shivani secured first, Heena second and Yograj secured third position. In Declamation Contest Lalita Kumari secured first, Meemansa Duggal second and Prasanna secured third position. The programme came to an end with prize distribution.

  • Dr. Renuka Thapliyal
    Co-ordinator Women and Child Protection Cell
    GDC Banjar


                                    Women Cell GDC Banjar

Dr. Renuka Thapliyal                  Convener

  •   Members

Dr. Binta Thakur
Dr. Kanchan Kumari
Ms. Monika Negi
Ms. Richa Ahluwalia
Ms. Dhanwanti Devi
Ms. Jyoti Bala

  • Student Members

Shiwangi Sharma
Anjali Thakur